The House of Finance is a building and organizational entity at Goethe University Frankfurt that brings together under one roof various research institutes, graduate schools, and university departments from the faculties of economics, business, and law dedicated to money and finance. While the House of Finance is part of the university, it has its own charter and organizational structure.

The House of Finance is the beneficiary of the House of Finance Foundation, which was established in 2011. Management responsibilities are fulfilled by an Executive Director, who works in collaboration with a Managing Director. The management team is advised by a Board of Trustees. The board supports fundraising activities and also verifies that foundation proceeds are used in accordance with the foundation charter. The board is composed of representatives from government in policy areas related to finance as well as from the ranks of the House of Finance’s sponsors. The chairman of the board is elected from among the sitting members. 

Management Team

Executive Director

Rainer Klump has been Professor of Economics at Goethe University Frankfurt since 2000. After studying economics in Mainz, Paris I, and Erlangen-Nuremberg and completing his doctorate and habilitation in Erlangen-Nuremberg, he was Professor of Economics at the University of Würzburg from 1992 to 1997 and held the Chair of Economic Policy at the University of Ulm from 1997 to 2000. From 2008 to 2014, he was Vice President of Goethe University Frankfurt. From 2015 to 2017, he took leave to serve as the Rector of the University of Luxembourg. Visiting professorships have taken him to Paris and Shanghai, among other places. Since 2020 he has been one of the Scientific Directors of the Center for Financial Studies (CFS). He was appointed Executive Director of the House of Finance on 1 July 2022.

Business Management and Secretariat

Hanna Floto-Degener

Managing Director
Tel: +49 69 798-34002

Dominika Agnieszka Steinbach

Tel: +49 69 798-34009

The Board of Trustees

Chairman of the Board of Trustees

Prof. Dr. Drs. h.c. Axel A. Weber has been Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the House of Finance since 1 January 2023. Following habilitation, his academic career took him to the University of Siegen, the University of Bonn, Goethe University Frankfurt, and the University of Cologne, where he held the Chair of International Economics from 2001 to 2004. During this time, Weber was a member of the German Council of Economic Experts, the Expert Committee of the German Bundesbank, and the Board of Directors of the Bank for International Settlements. In April 2004, Weber took over as President of the Deutsche Bundesbank, a position he held until the spring of 2011. In May 2012, he joined UBS Group AG as Chairman of the Board of Directors.

Members of the Board of Trustees

Jörg Asmussen

German Insurance Association (GDV)

Dr. Thomas Book

Deutsche Börse AG

Mark Branson

Federal Financial Supervisory Authority (BaFin)

Kim Comperl

Metzler Bank

Dr. Udo Corts

Deutsche Vermögensberatung (DVAG)

Thomas Groß


Petra Hielkema

European Insurance and Occupational Pensions Authority

Nick Jue


Prof. Dr. Michael Krause

Stiftung Geld und Währung

James von Moltke

Deutsche Bank AG

Dr. Joachim Nagel

Deutsche Bundesbank

Boris Rhein

Minister-President of Hesse

Dr. Cornelius Riese


Prof. Dr. Enrico Schleiff

Goethe University Frankfurt

Prof. Dr. Jens Weidmann

Commerzbank AG


Federal Ministry of Finance

Dr. Georg Stocker


Tobias Vogel

UBS Europe SE

Stefan B. Wintels

KfW Bankengruppe

Prof. Dr. Wolfram Wrabetz

IHK Frankfurt, representative of the State of Hesse for the insurance sector